On Saturday night I sat with my daughters while they watched two of their kids t.v hero’s, Sam and Mark, perform to the Wham track from the eighties, ‘Wake me up before you go-go’! They wore T-shirts that said ‘Choose Sam’ and ‘Choose Mark’! I remembered how the Wham duo originally wore T-shirts that said, ‘Choose Life!’ John, one of the first followers of Jesus, makes that same statement to us, that we should choose life through Jesus Christ: 

If we take human testimony at face value, how much more should we be reassured when God gives testimony as he does here, testifying concerning his Son. Whoever believes in the Son of God inwardly confirms God’s testimony. Whoever refuses to believe in effect calls God a liar, refusing to believe God’s own testimony regarding his Son. This is the testimony in essence: God gave us eternal life; the life is in his Son. So, whoever has the Son, has life; whoever rejects the Son, rejects life. 1 John 5:9-12 (The Message)

Being sceptical and not trusting what we hear is the spirit of this age. I like to think that most people are trustworthy and I prefer to believe people rather than doubt them without cause. I think that this gets harder as the pressure from our culture to ask for proof before we believe anything increases. Of course, there is the decision we make not to believe despite the evidence to believe. It may not suit us, or it may be inconvenient to our life style, to accept something someone says that may challenge us to change in some way.

I think it is spiritually healthy to ask the big questions and to be ready and willing to take on the challenge of God’s testimony to Jesus. My wife wrote, in her blog ( http://chill71.wordpress.com ) just this weekend of the great modern day Christian John Stott, who says that we should not live above the Bible or beside it but under it and do not assume that it we will live comfortably with it. It is my experience that the way I live my life is constantly challenged by considering what the Bible says and, as a follower of Jesus, I need to take it on board as a whole and not pick and choose if I am to choose life through Jesus Christ.

Lord of life, today let my life reflect what I know and see in your Son Jesus. Let your testimony of him be the guiding light to how I view my part in this world. Let me choose life in Jesus above all and let my life display your sacrificial love to others. Amen.

