Judas betrayed Jesus for an ideal and thirty silver coins, Peter betrayed Jesus because he was afraid that he would meet the same fate as Jesus.

Arresting Jesus, they marched him off and took him into the house of the Chief Priest. Peter followed, but at a safe distance. In the middle of the courtyard some people had started a fire and were sitting around it, trying to keep warm. One of the serving maids sitting at the fire noticed him, then took a second look and said, “This man was with him!”  He denied it, “Woman, I don’t even know him.” A short time later, someone else noticed him and said, “You’re one of them.”  But Peter denied it: “Man, I am not.” Luke 22:54-58 (The Message)

We are quick to condemn the actions of Judas but slow to say the same of Peter. Possibly it is because it is far easier to see our own fear and shallow love for God in him. I pity and associate myself with both Judas and Peter. I could so easily follow the example of either of them when I have followed Jesus through the hard times. I wonder if you see any reflection of yourselves in them this Easter? What do we need if we do? For God to show the mercy and forgiveness that are only his to give through grace. For our hearts to react to the call of Jesus once more to follow him, even to death on a cross.

Let this Passion week fill my heart once more with the passion to follow you Lord, and let my fearful heart be filled with the courage of your cross to face every challenge with faith. Amen.

