Who can we turn to when things are at their darkest?

“The sky turns black, sun and moon go dark, stars burn out. God roars from Zion, shouts from Jerusalem. Earth and sky quake in terror. But God is a safe hiding place, a granite safe house for the children of Israel. Then you’ll know for sure that I’m your God, Living in Zion, my sacred mountain. Jerusalem will be a sacred city, posted: ‘no trespassing.’ Joel 3:16-17 (The Message)

I wonder if  you ever get afraid,  you know really heart wrenchingly, paralyzingly afraid? On Friday I took a group of yp to an ariel adventure. Five sites slung between trees in a forest. Obstacles and zip wires lay ahead. One of the yp was brave an pressing ahead, encouraging others less courageous and talking all the time. The, suddenly, silence! For the rest of the time it was we who had to encourage. It up to those of us that led the group to get behind and push. It is a mystery to me why such an evidently confident yp should be suddenly overcome with a paralyzing fear. I do not like hieghts myself, but the attachments were secure and the course well designed. The only thing I can think of is that suddenly there was irrational doubt that the structure would hold.

If we are to find a secure hiding place in God in times of trouble it is essential that we remain confident in the design of Christ’s cross. He is the safe hiding place and when we are in him fear of judgement, death, and hell, is met with the sign, ‘No trespassin’.

Almighty God, I cling to you as the secure hiding place for my soul today. When fear comes knocking let me hold confidently to the sign that says, ‘No trespassing’. Amen

