What do we expect God to do for people?

Peter said, “I don’t have a nickel to my name, but what I do have, I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk!” He grabbed him by the right hand and pulled him up. In an instant his feet and ankles became firm. He jumped to his feet and walked. Acts 3:6-8 (The Message)

Jesus said to his disciples, ‘1I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.’ John 14:2 (The N.I.V. translation) Here we see the fulfilment of Jesus words. Peter and John have been filled with the Holy Spirit at Pentecost and, although ordinary men, are walking  in the power of God to do miracles. This was the least expected outcome from the man at the beautiful gate. It took spiritual courage and confidence in the promise of God, for Peter and John, to step out in faith, grab the man by the hand and lift him up, knowing that God would heal him. What do we expect God to do for people? What do we expect God to do for people through us? When we are Christians who seek to be filled with the Holy Spirit then the promise of God to his disciples is the promise of God to all who follow him. What do we expect God to do?

Almight God, may we be filled with your Spirit and looking for  you to do, through us, what you promised to do through those who would follow you. Let our words be filled with your grace, our hearts with your love, and our actions with your power. Amen.

