In our building centred Christian sprituality we look for holy places with four walls. Moses found his in a wide, open, space.

“God said, ‘Kneel and pray. You are in a holy place, on holy ground. I’ve seen the agony of my people in Egypt. I’ve heard their groans. I’ve come to help them. So get yourself ready; I’m sending you back to Egypt.’ Acts 7:33-34 (The Message)

It is the presence of the Holy that creates a holy place. Because we put up a building and put a roof on it, consecrate it with words, worship in it on a Sunday, this does not create a holy place. When we encounter God, whether that is in a building, a field, on a mountain, or in the eyes of a loving friend, this is the place of holiness. What do I mean? Well, it is the presence of God without and within that creates the holy place. We encounter God when we turn our face toward him and we can do this any where. Churches have been places of worship with special significance to Christian communities for millenia. To focus our attention on the structures of men is limiting God, however, and God is not to be limited. So, I encounter God whereever and whenever I take the time to pray or otherwise pay attention to my walk with God. To this end the Christian should be aware that all the ground we walk on is holy when we follow Jesus and God calls us to walk carefully, without covering ourselves from the potential cuts and bruises that can afflict our very souls, as we walk on holy ground in the presence of the holy God.

May we walk with Jesus as if we are walking on holy ground, bare feet open to the snags and snares, conscious of the presence of God in every step. Amen.

