Obsession with buildings is the curse of the church imho.

“Yet that doesn’t mean that Most High God lives in a building made by carpenters and masons. The prophet Isaiah put it well when he wrote,

   “Heaven is my throne room;
      I rest my feet on earth.
   So what kind of house
      will you build me?” says God.
   “Where I can get away and relax?
      It’s already built, and I built it.”

Acts 7:48-50 (The Message)

 If we make our spiritual life subject to bricks and mortar, or any geographical destination, we run the risk of missing the big picture. Stephen is clear about his priority. He is clear what he believes. Although Solomon built the Temple in Jerusalem, the prophet Isaiah gets straight to the point. Who will build a house for him, he has a house, one that he has already made!

What does that mean? Well, it is clear from the New Testament that the Holy Spirit makes his home in the hearts of people. When we experience God in the intimacy of prayer, from a heart of faith, God lives in us and we live in him.

May we know the closeness of God’s presence through his Holy Spirit and may we be the ‘house’ of God as we walk each day with him. Amen

